PEP

PepsiCo Inc.

DOUBTFUL — SCREEN DOES NOT PASSstock

Is PEP Halal?

Core foods and non-alcoholic beverages are generally permissible, but current total-assets screens fail and alcohol licensing and product-level ingredient revenue are not separately disclosed.

What You Should Know

PepsiCo's June 2026 balance sheet produces a 47.43% interest-bearing-debt-to-assets ratio, above the examined total-assets limits. The company also licenses beverage trademarks and sells flavoring for alcoholic products, while official Frito-Lay materials identify porcine enzymes in parts of the product portfolio. Because alcohol- and ingredient-specific revenue and gross interest income are not disclosed, the business and purification screens remain incomplete and ZakatInvest classifies PEP as doubtful.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Alcohol trademark licensing and flavoring sales; exact screened revenue is undisclosed
  • Interest-bearing debt is 47.43% of total assets
  • Porcine enzymes exist in parts of the portfolio; exact affected-product revenue is undisclosed
  • Gross interest income and a complete purification numerator are unavailable
  • Nutrition, marketing, water, plastics, agriculture, labor and human rights

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-06-13; calculated 2026-07-12.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
47.43%Above limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

53,214 / 112,189

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
9.55%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

10,716 / 112,189

Receivables + cash / assets
21.17%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

23,747 / 112,189

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 47.43% of total assets and exceeds the 33.333% limit. Identifiable liquidity is 9.55% and receivables plus cash is 21.17%, but the debt failure determines the result; gross non-compliant income and screened business revenue are unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 47.43% and exceeds the examined 33.33% total-assets limit. Liquidity and receivables-plus-cash pass, but the debt failure determines the result; the business-activity calculation remains incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Fails
Overall
Fails

Debt is 47.43% and exceeds the examined 33% total-assets limit. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue is unavailable.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

PepsiCo's core portfolio combines convenient foods and mainly non-alcoholic beverages. Ordinary snacks, grains, water, sports drinks and soft drinks are generally permissible categories. PepsiCo also documents a trademark-licensing and flavoring-sales model for alcoholic products, and official Frito-Lay materials identify porcine enzymes in particular markets and product lines.

Limitation: Consolidated reporting does not provide revenue for alcohol trademarks, flavoring sales, porcine ingredients, individual formulations, or other screened end uses. The activities are documented, but neither their exact numerator nor a claim that total prohibited revenue is below or above 5% can be reproduced from the filing.

Purification

The filing reports net interest expense and other, not gross interest income, and does not isolate alcohol- or ingredient-specific operating revenue. ZakatInvest therefore does not invent an income percentage or fixed purification rate from a net expense line.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt is the sum of 10,602 of short-term debt obligations and 42,612 of long-term debt obligations.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 10,251 balance.
  • The entire 465 short-term-investments line is treated as identifiable interest-bearing securities. The filing says cash equivalents and short-term investments recorded at amortized cost have short maturities and approximate fair value.
  • Receivables use the reported 13,496 accounts-and-notes-receivable balance after allowances.
  • Net revenue of 24,181 uses the 12-week period ended June 13, 2026, matching the latest quarter in the filing.
  • PepsiCo reports 230 of net interest expense and other for the quarter, but does not separately disclose gross interest income. A net expense cannot be repurposed as a gross non-compliant-income numerator, so the income ratio and purification calculation remain unavailable.
  • The filing discloses revenue by segment and as 44% beverages and 56% convenient foods, but not by alcohol licensing, flavoring, porcine ingredient, individual product, or other Sharia-screened activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own PEP? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track PEP and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →