PG

Procter & Gamble Co.

HALAL — FINANCIAL SCREENS PASSstock

Is PG Halal?

Daily-use consumer products are generally permissible, and the March 2026 total-assets financial ratios pass.

What You Should Know

P&G sells household, hygiene, grooming, beauty, oral-care, personal-health, baby, feminine-care and family-care products. Its current debt, liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest ratios pass the examined total-assets methods. Product-level screened revenue is not disclosed, so the halal label preserves ZakatInvest's qualitative judgment while formulations, testing, sourcing, marketing, labor and environmental impacts remain under review.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Specific formulations may require verification for animal-derived ingredients, alcohol carriers or other inputs
  • Disclosed gross interest income was 0.47% of quarterly sales
  • Product safety, labeling, advertising and marketing practices
  • Animal testing and validated alternatives
  • Palm oil, pulp, plastics, chemicals, water, emissions, waste, supplier labor and human rights

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-12.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
28.84%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

37,026 / 128,378

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
9.59%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

12,306 / 128,378

Receivables + cash / assets
14.51%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

18,628 / 128,378

Non-compliant income / revenue
0.47%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

100 / 21,235

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 28.84%, identifiable liquidity is 9.59%, receivables plus cash is 14.51%, and disclosed gross interest income is 0.47%. The financial ratios pass, but a screened business-revenue numerator is unavailable.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

The examined total-assets financial ratios pass. Overall classification remains incomplete because product- and practice-level screened operating revenue is not separately disclosed.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

The examined financial ratios pass, but a screened business-revenue percentage is unavailable. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Procter & Gamble sells household, hygiene, grooming, beauty, oral-care, over-the-counter health, baby, feminine-care and family-care products. Everyday cleaning, personal care and health products are generally permissible and beneficial. Product-level formulation and practice evidence remains necessary rather than treating every item in a broad consumer-goods portfolio identically.

Limitation: The filing does not classify revenue by Sharia-screened ingredient, alcohol carrier, animal-derived input, product formulation, manufacturing method, licensing arrangement, testing method, marketing practice, or end use. No prohibited core segment is identified, but an exact prohibited-revenue percentage cannot be proven from consolidated segment disclosure.

Purification

Disclosed gross interest income equals 0.47% of quarterly net sales. Screened operating revenue remains unavailable, so this ratio is evidence for the income screen rather than a complete fixed purification prescription.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt is the sum of 13,174 of debt due within one year plus 23,852 of long-term debt.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 12,306 balance. The filing states that 11,100 of that balance consists of cash equivalents and that there were no other material investments in debt or equity securities.
  • Interest-bearing securities are recorded as zero outside cash equivalents because the filing reports no other material debt or equity investments; this avoids double counting interest-bearing instruments already inside cash equivalents.
  • Receivables use the reported 6,322 accounts-receivable balance.
  • Net sales and the disclosed 100 of gross interest income use the same three-month period ended March 31, 2026.
  • Procter & Gamble reports five product-based segments but does not provide a Sharia-screened numerator for ingredients, alcohol carriers, animal-derived inputs, manufacturing, licensing, testing, marketing, or other potentially non-compliant activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own PG? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track PG and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →