PYPL
PayPal Holdings Inc.
Is PYPL Halal?
Payment network with direct consumer-credit products; conservative liquidity and receivables ratios exceed examined limits.
What You Should Know
PayPal's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q shows $80,546 million of assets, $10,876 million of debt, $29,607 million of cash plus short-term and available-for-sale debt securities, and $48,874 million of broad receivables. PayPal Credit and interest-bearing installment products create direct riba concerns; exact prohibited revenue is not separately disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •PayPal Credit and interest-bearing installment products
- •Pay Later structures vary by product and merchant subsidy
- •Customer funds, lending receivables and conventional treasury investments
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
10,876 / 80,546
29,607 / 80,546
55,851 / 80,546
107 / 8,353
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Conservatively including short-term investments, liquidity/assets is 36.76% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 69.34%, above examined limits; direct interest-bearing credit activity is also material.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Conservative liquidity and receivables-plus-cash ratios exceed the examined MSCI total-assets thresholds, and the business includes direct consumer-credit products.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Conservative liquidity/assets exceeds the examined Malaysia SAC limit, while the activity screen remains qualified by material credit products. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, so market-cap denominator methods are not estimated from a spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
PayPal operates a payments and digital-wallet network but also originates or facilitates consumer credit, PayPal Credit, Pay Later and installment products.
Limitation: PayPal does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue allocation across transaction processing, interest-bearing credit, merchant subsidies, wallet balances and other products.
Purification
Disclosed investment income is 1.28% of quarterly revenue, but PayPal does not isolate all income connected to credit products. ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from PayPal's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is long-term debt. Liquidity includes short-term investments and available-for-sale debt securities.
- Receivables are conservatively represented by accounts receivable, loans held for sale, loans and interest receivable, and funds receivable and customer accounts; customer balances are not assumed to be Sharia-compliant trade receivables.
- The filing describes PayPal Credit and installment credit products, including interest-bearing installment loans. Exact prohibited revenue is not separately disclosed; investment income is used as the disclosed income proxy.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →