RIVN

Rivian Automotive Inc.

DOUBTFUL — FINANCIAL SCREENS PASSstock

Is RIVN Halal?

Electric-vehicle manufacturing is generally permissible, but the public filing cannot reproduce a complete screened business-revenue calculation.

What You Should Know

Rivian's March 2026 debt, liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest-income ratios pass the examined total-assets screens. Software-and-services disclosure includes financing and insurance, while no screened revenue allocation is reported.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Business-revenue allocation for services, financing and insurance is not disclosed
  • Liquidity is close to a 33% total-assets limit
  • Significant losses, debt and capital needs while scaling
  • Customer concentration, partnership, safety, privacy and supply-chain review

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
29.88%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

4,442 / 14,864

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
32.49%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

4,830 / 14,864

Receivables + cash / assets
21.44%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

3,187 / 14,864

Non-compliant income / revenue
3.62%Within limit
No more than 5% under FTSE Yasaar

50 / 1,381

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt is 29.88%, identifiable liquidity is 32.50%, receivables plus cash is 21.44%, and disclosed interest income is 3.62%; all examined financial ratios pass. Liquidity is close to the 33.333% limit and the screened business-revenue calculation remains incomplete.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt, cash plus identifiable interest-bearing securities, and receivables plus cash are below the examined total-assets limits. Liquidity is close to the 33.33% limit. This is not a claim about index membership; business-activity revenue remains undisclosed.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Identifiable conventional cash and interest-bearing instruments and conservatively defined interest-bearing debt are below 33% of total assets. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue is unavailable.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Not calculated

A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Rivian designs, manufactures and sells electric vehicles, including consumer trucks and SUVs and commercial vehicles, alongside software and services. Vehicle manufacturing and transport can be generally permissible activities. Potential environmental benefit depends on the full lifecycle, including materials, batteries, manufacturing and electricity, rather than the electric drivetrain alone.

Limitation: The filing separates new electric vehicles, regulatory credits, and software-and-services revenue but does not disclose a reproducible Sharia-screened allocation for financing, insurance, digital services, customer arrangements, contracts or other activity categories. An undisclosed prohibited-revenue numerator cannot be treated as zero.

Purification

Disclosed interest income equals 3.62% of quarterly revenue and passes the examined income limit. Screened operating revenue, including the filing's software-and-services, financing and insurance references, is not separately available, so 3.62% is not a complete fixed purification prescription.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Interest-bearing debt uses the reported 4,442 long-term debt carrying amount. The reported principal amount is 4,475 across 2029 Green Notes, 2030 Green Notes and 2031 Green Secured Notes; no current debt balance was reported separately on the March 31 balance sheet.
  • Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 2,845 balance. Identifiable interest-bearing securities use the reported 1,985 short-term investments, which include certificates of deposit, commercial paper, corporate bonds, term deposits and U.S. Treasury securities. The full reported balance is used conservatively rather than presuming an unreported subset is non-interest-bearing.
  • Accounts receivable use the reported 342 net balance.
  • Revenue of 1,381 and separately reported interest income of 50 use the same three-month period ended March 31, 2026.
  • The filing reports new electric vehicles, regulatory credits, and software-and-services revenue, but does not classify that revenue by Sharia-screened product, service, financing, insurance, customer, contract or economic activity.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own RIVN? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track RIVN and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →