SABIC
SABIC (Saudi Basic Industries)
Is SABIC Halal?
Petrochemicals and industrial materials are generally permissible, but current screening remains incomplete.
What You Should Know
SABIC's March 31, 2026 financial statements show SAR 237,906.104 million of assets, SAR 38,682.787 million of debt and lease liabilities, SAR 24,553.896 million of cash and Q1 revenue of SAR 26.15 billion. The examined asset ratios are below the listed limits, but a methodology-neutral conventional-interest or prohibited-revenue numerator and product-level end-use allocation are not disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •FTSE income numerator and business classification remain incomplete
- •Chemical, polymer and fertilizer products have environmental and downstream-use questions
- •Joint ventures, divestitures and short-term investments require underlying review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on Q1 interim financial statements figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
38,682.787 / 237,906.104
35,915.062 / 237,906.104
54,316.898 / 237,906.104
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 16.26%, liquidity/assets is 15.10% and receivables plus cash/assets is 22.82%; the income numerator is unavailable and business classification remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets, liquidity/assets and receivables plus cash/assets are below the examined MSCI asset thresholds, but business classification and income disclosure remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and liquidity/assets are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
Historical market-cap inputs are not stored; market-cap methods cannot resolve the unavailable income and business-activity determinations.
Business-activity disclosure
Petrochemicals, polymers, agri-nutrients and specialty materials are generally permissible manufacturing activities, but feedstock, chemical end uses, derivatives, joint ventures and customer applications are not fully allocated by Sharia category.
Limitation: SABIC reports segment revenue but not a complete prohibited-use, conventional-interest or contract-level allocation.
Purification
No purification percentage is calculated because a methodology-neutral conventional-interest or prohibited-revenue numerator is not disclosed. Consult a qualified scholar for any purification decision.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are SAR millions converted from the Q1 2026 financial statements' SAR thousands; revenue is SAR millions from the Q1 earnings release.
- Debt includes debt and lease liabilities plus current borrowings and current debt/lease portions.
- Receivables include trade and other current/non-current receivables; short-term investments are treated as identifiable interest-bearing securities.
- The release and interim statement do not isolate a methodology-neutral conventional-interest or prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →