SAIC
Science Applications International
Is SAIC Halal?
Defense IT contractor — government/defense technology.
What You Should Know
SAIC's May 1, 2026 filing reports Defense and Intelligence revenue of $1,466 million (76.92% of quarterly revenue), debt/assets of 47.06%, liquidity/assets of 2.04% and receivables plus cash/assets of 20.06%. The existing qualitative HARAM verdict is retained; the exact school-specific prohibited-revenue numerator and gross interest income are not disclosed.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Defense and Intelligence revenue is 76.92% of quarterly revenue
- •Government surveillance and intelligence systems
- •Debt screen fails at 47.06% of assets
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-05-01; calculated 2026-07-14.
2,512 / 5,338
109 / 5,338
1,071 / 5,338
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 47.06% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 2.04% and receivables plus cash are 20.06%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 47.06% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below their examined limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 47.06% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
SAIC is a government technology contractor with a disclosed Defense and Intelligence revenue category representing 76.92% of quarterly revenue. The existing qualitative HARAM verdict is retained because defense and intelligence contracting is the core business, but the automated business screen remains incomplete without a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator.
Limitation: The filing provides Defense and Intelligence versus Civilian revenue categories but does not identify which contracts or end uses a particular school would classify as prohibited investment activity; gross interest income is also unavailable.
Purification
Gross interest income and a school-approved purification numerator are unavailable; the adverse defense and intelligence activity assessment is retained qualitatively and no fixed amount is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt combines the reported current debt portion of 26 with 2,486 of debt net of current portion.
- Cash and cash equivalents are 109. No separate unrestricted interest-bearing securities balance is reported; investment-sale activity in the cash-flow statement is not treated as a closing securities balance.
- Receivables, net are 962 and quarterly revenue is 1,906.
- SAIC separately reports 1,466 of Defense and Intelligence revenue and 440 of Civilian revenue for the quarter. That disclosed mix is retained as qualitative evidence, but it is not entered as a prohibited-revenue numerator because school-specific treatment of government, intelligence and dual-use work is not established by the filing.
- Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; interest expense is not used as an income numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →