SJM
The J.M. Smucker Company
Is SJM Halal?
Packaged food is generally permissible, but debt/assets exceeds the examined asset-based limits.
What You Should Know
J.M. Smucker's April 30, 2026 Form 10-K reports 42.93% interest-bearing debt/assets, 0.36% cash/assets and 4.41% receivables-plus-cash/assets. Core food and coffee products are generally permissible, while pet-food ingredients and interest income remain incompletely quantified.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is 42.93%, above the examined 33.333% limit
- •Pet-food ingredients may include pork-derived material
- •Interest income and product-level prohibited revenue are not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-K figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-14.
6,963.7 / 16,219.4
58.6 / 16,219.4
714.9 / 16,219.4
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.93%, above the examined 33.333% limit; cash/assets is 0.36% and receivables plus cash/assets is 4.41%. Interest income remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.93%, above the examined MSCI total-assets limit; product classification remains incomplete. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 42.93%, above the examined Malaysia SAC financial limit; this is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed reproducible market-cap history is not stored; a spot estimate is not substituted.
Business-activity disclosure
J.M. Smucker sells packaged coffee, spreads, frozen handheld foods, snacks and pet-food products. Packaged food and coffee are generally permissible, while pet-food ingredients and brand-level product composition are not quantified into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify pork-derived or other ingredient exposure as a reproducible Sharia numerator, and market-cap methods are not calculated.
Purification
Interest income is not separately disclosed and product-level ingredient exposure is not quantified; investors should seek qualified guidance and no fixed percentage is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from J.M. Smucker's April 30, 2026 Form 10-K.
- Debt is current long-term debt of 150.0 plus short-term borrowings of 420.9 plus long-term debt of 6,392.8; leases are excluded.
- Cash is 58.6 and trade receivables are 656.3.
- Fiscal-year net sales are 9,050.9.
- The filing does not provide a reproducible standalone interest-income numerator or a school-specific prohibited-food revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →