TWLO
Twilio Inc.
Is TWLO Halal?
Cloud communications infrastructure is generally permissible, but end-use and income disclosures remain incomplete.
What You Should Know
Twilio's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets of 10.37%, liquidity/assets of 24.50% and receivables plus cash/assets of 13.08%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Messaging, voice and email APIs are generally permissible infrastructure, while customer campaigns, political, adult, gambling, riba-related and other downstream uses require qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Gross interest income is not separately disclosed, so the FTSE income screen is incomplete
- •Messaging, voice and email APIs can facilitate varied downstream activity
- •Customer campaign and end-use revenue is not separately allocated
- •Privacy, consent, deliverability, abuse prevention and data security require review
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
992.722 / 9,576.805
2,346.262 / 9,576.805
1,252.492 / 9,576.805
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 10.37%, liquidity/assets is 24.50% and receivables plus cash/assets is 13.08%, below the examined FTSE limits; gross interest income is not separately disclosed and activity classification remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 10.37%, liquidity/assets is 24.50% and receivables plus cash/assets is 13.08%, below the examined MSCI total-assets limits; activity classification remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The examined ratios pass at debt/assets 10.37% and liquidity/assets 24.50%; activity classification remains incomplete and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored and business classification remains incomplete, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Twilio supplies cloud communications APIs, messaging, voice, email, customer-engagement and related software services. Communications infrastructure is generally permissible, while customer campaigns, marketing, political, adult, gambling, riba-related and other downstream uses require continuing qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not allocate revenue into a universal prohibited-activity numerator by message, campaign, customer industry or downstream use, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Purification
Twilio does not separately disclose gross interest income for the quarter; other income includes investment and other items, so no scholar-approved purification percentage can be derived from this filing.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions converted from Twilio's thousands presentation in the March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is $992.722 million of net 2029 and 2031 senior notes; operating lease liabilities are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents are $541.976 million and short-term marketable securities are $1,804.286 million.
- Accounts receivable, net are $710.516 million and first-quarter revenue is $1,406.907 million.
- The filing reports other income net and investment results but does not separately disclose a gross interest-income numerator for this quarter.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →