URBN

Urban Outfitters, Inc.

DOUBTFUL — METHODS DIFFERstock

Is URBN Halal?

Lifestyle apparel and home retailer — the latest filing shows no identified interest-bearing debt and passing asset ratios, but store-card financing and product-promotion concerns remain unquantified.

What You Should Know

Urban Outfitters, Inc. operates the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People, FP Movement and Nuuly brands across apparel, accessories, home, beauty and rental services. Selling clothing and home products is generally permissible. Its April 30, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $4,764.768 million of assets, no identified interest-bearing debt, $301.364 million of cash, $349.449 million of available-for-sale debt securities, $115.903 million of accounts receivable and $1,481.345 million of three-month revenue. Debt/assets is 0.00%, liquidity/assets is 13.66% and receivables-plus-cash/assets is 8.76%. Gross interest income and store-card partner revenue are not separately disclosed, and product-promotion concerns remain qualitative, so URBN remains doubtful and methodology-dependent.

⚠️ Concerns

  • Store-card financing is provided through a partner and its revenue share is not quantified
  • Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie and Free People merchandising can include immodest imagery
  • The latest filing shows no identified interest-bearing debt and passing asset ratios
  • Available-for-sale debt securities require security-level classification
  • Verdict is mix-and-disclosure dependent; re-screen as brand and financing disclosures change

Current quantitative Sharia screen

Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-15.

USD · millions
Interest-bearing debt / assets
0.00%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

0 / 4,764.768

Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets
13.66%Within limit
Below 33.333% under FTSE Yasaar

650.813 / 4,764.768

Receivables + cash / assets
8.76%Within limit
Below 50% under FTSE Yasaar

417.267 / 4,764.768

FTSE Yasaar
v4.6, February 2026
Financial
Incomplete
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets is 0.00%, liquidity/assets is 13.66% and receivables plus cash/assets is 8.76%, below the examined asset limits; gross interest income and business mix remain incomplete.

MSCI Islamic (total-assets series)
October 2024 methodology
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets is 0.00%, liquidity/assets is 13.66% and receivables plus cash/assets is 8.76%, below the examined MSCI total-assets limits; store-card and product-mix activity remains incomplete.

Malaysia SAC financial ratios
single 5% activity benchmark adopted November 2025
Financial
Pass
Overall
Incomplete

Debt/assets and liquidity/assets are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits; store-card and product-mix activity remains incomplete, and this is not an official classification.

Market-cap denominator methods
MSCI M-Series, S&P and Dow Jones methods differ
Financial
Not calculated
Overall
Incomplete

A licensed historical market-cap series is not stored, so market-cap denominator methods are not estimated from a current spot price.

Business-activity disclosure

Urban Outfitters operates apparel, accessories, home, beauty and rental brands. Clothing and home retail are generally permissible, while store-card financing, product presentation and modesty questions require qualitative review.

Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible numerator for store-card financing revenue, modesty-related activity or other prohibited-adjacent sales, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.

Purification

Gross interest and store-card-related non-compliant income are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.

Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
  • Amounts are USD millions from Urban Outfitters' April 30, 2026 Form 10-Q.
  • No interest-bearing debt is identified in the extracted balance-sheet facts; operating leases are not treated as debt for this screen.
  • Cash and cash equivalents are $301.364 million. Available-for-sale debt securities are $349.449 million and are included as identifiable interest-bearing securities.
  • Accounts receivable, net is $115.903 million and the three-month revenue period ended April 30, 2026 reports $1,481.345 million.
  • The filing does not quantify store-card partner revenue, gross interest income or a universal prohibited-activity numerator.

This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.

🧾
Own URBN? Purify your portfolio.
Per-holding purification amounts, zakat on your shares, and halal alternatives for flagged holdings — a personalized report prepared for you within 48 hours.
Order Your Report — $49 →
Track URBN and 30,000+ stocks' live compliance status with Islamicly — 50% off with code ZAKAT50.Get Islamicly →

Want to screen more assets?

Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.

Go to Halal Checker →