WEC
WEC Energy Group
Is WEC Halal?
Utility — permissible but leverage concerns.
What You Should Know
WEC's March 31, 2026 filing reports debt/assets of 42.42%, liquidity/assets of 0.09% and receivables plus cash/assets of 3.79%. WEC provides electricity and gas in the Midwest, while transmission affiliates, non-utility infrastructure and financing remain qualitative concerns.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 42.42% of assets
- •Very low unrestricted liquidity
- •Outside trust assets excluded from liquidity
- •Gross interest income unavailable
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
21,947.4 / 51,734
45.6 / 51,734
1,960 / 51,734
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.42% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 0.09% and receivables plus cash are 3.79%, while gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.42% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below their examined limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 42.42% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit; identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
WEC provides electric and natural-gas utility services, generally permissible in principle. Transmission affiliates, non-utility energy infrastructure, renewable projects, financing and regulated structures require qualitative review, and the filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-activity numerator.
Limitation: The filing does not quantify a scholar-specific prohibited-revenue numerator or gross interest income; this record is not an official Sharia classification.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed and the business-activity numerator remains incomplete; no fixed purification amount is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt combines 2,045.2 of short-term debt, 520.4 of current long-term debt and 19,381.8 of noncurrent long-term debt; finance lease obligations are excluded from this narrower debt input.
- Cash and cash equivalents are 45.6. Restricted cash and outside pension/OPEB trust securities are excluded; no separate unrestricted interest-bearing securities balance is identified.
- Accounts receivable and unbilled revenues, net are 1,914.4 and quarterly operating revenue is 3,434.2.
- Gross interest income is not separately disclosed in the consolidated statement; other income, net is not used as an interest-income proxy.
- WEC includes regulated electric and natural-gas utilities, transmission investments and non-utility energy infrastructure; no school-specific prohibited-revenue numerator is disclosed.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →