WEX
WEX Inc.
Is WEX Halal?
Fleet-card and bank payment services with failed debt and liquidity screens.
What You Should Know
WEX's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 33.95%, liquidity/assets 35.40% and receivables plus cash/assets 32.30%; gross interest income is not separately disclosed. Fleet-card, financing and WEX Bank activities create a material qualitative riba question alongside permissible payment services.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt and liquidity screens fail at 33.95% and 35.40%
- •Fleet-card and WEX Bank financing activities
- •Gross interest income and activity revenue not quantified
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
5,237.1 / 15,425.3
5,461.1 / 15,425.3
4,982.4 / 15,425.3
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 33.95% of total assets and liquidity is 35.40%, both above the examined FTSE limits; receivables plus cash are 32.30%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 33.95% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit, and liquidity is 35.40%; receivables-plus-cash is 32.30%. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 33.95% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, and identifiable liquidity is 35.40%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
WEX provides fleet-card, corporate-payments, healthcare-benefits and payment-processing services, including WEX Bank. Card credit, financing and bank activities create a material qualitative riba question alongside permissible payment services.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator separating payment processing from card-credit, financing and bank activities.
Purification
Gross interest income and a scholar-approved prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $1,631.4 million of short-term debt and $3,605.7 million of long-term debt.
- Interest-bearing securities use $4,775.4 million of current and $52.2 million of non-current available-for-sale debt securities; equity funds are excluded. Restricted cash is excluded from cash.
- Accounts receivable are $4,348.9 million and quarterly total revenue is $673.8 million.
- Operating interest and financing interest expense are disclosed, but gross interest income is not separately disclosed as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →