WH
Wyndham Hotels & Resorts
Is WH Halal?
Hotel franchising with a 62.38% debt/assets screen.
What You Should Know
Wyndham's March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets 62.38%, liquidity/assets 1.86% and receivables plus cash/assets 8.92%. Hotel franchising is generally permissible, but franchisee-level alcohol and other amenities remain qualitative concerns and the debt screen fails.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt screen fails at 62.38% of assets
- •Franchisee-level alcohol and gaming activity is not quantified
- •Gross interest income not separately disclosed
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
2,650 / 4,248
79 / 4,248
379 / 4,248
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 62.38% of total assets, above the examined 33.333% limit; liquidity is 1.86% and receivables plus cash are 8.92%.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 62.38% of total assets, above the examined 33.33% limit; liquidity and receivables-plus-cash remain below their limits. This is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt is 62.38% of total assets, above the examined 33% limit, while identifiable liquidity is below 33%. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not stored, so market-cap methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Wyndham is a hotel-franchising and hospitality-services company. Franchising is generally permissible, but franchisees may provide alcohol, gaming and other non-permissible amenities that are not quantified in the issuer filing.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible prohibited-revenue numerator for franchisee-level alcohol, gaming, entertainment or other scholar-specific activity categories.
Purification
Gross interest income and a scholar-approved prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed; no purification percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Debt combines $23 million of current long-term debt with $2,627 million of long-term debt; the debt note reports $2,650 million total.
- Cash uses $79 million of cash and cash equivalents. No separately identified interest-bearing security balance is included in the screen.
- Trade receivables are $300 million and quarterly net revenue is $327 million.
- The filing reports interest expense, net, but does not separately disclose gross interest income usable as a standalone screen input.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →