WMT
Walmart Inc.
Is WMT Halal?
Walmart's April 2026 total-assets financial screens pass, but alcohol, pork, tobacco, lottery and conventional-finance revenue is not disclosed as a reproducible Sharia-screened numerator.
What You Should Know
Walmart's ordinary grocery, household, clothing, electronics, pharmacy, logistics and other retail activities are generally permissible. Its current debt, liquidity, receivables and disclosed-interest ratios pass. Walmart also documents alcohol, pork, tobacco, lottery tickets and financial services, while consolidated reporting does not isolate their screened revenue. ZakatInvest therefore keeps WMT doubtful instead of inventing a percentage or claiming that all retail revenue is prohibited.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Alcohol, pork, tobacco and lottery revenue is not separately disclosed
- •Interest-bearing debt is 20.07% of total assets
- •Disclosed gross interest income was 0.04% of quarterly revenue
- •MoneyCenter, card, insurance and other financial-service structures
- •Marketplace products, advertising, pharmacy and product-specific screening
- •Labor, sourcing, animal welfare, market power, privacy, safety and environmental impacts
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-30; calculated 2026-07-12.
58,129 / 289,607
11,921 / 289,607
21,391 / 289,607
79 / 177,751
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 20.07%, identifiable liquidity is 4.12%, receivables plus cash is 7.39%, and disclosed interest income is 0.04%; all examined financial ratios pass. The screened business-revenue calculation remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, cash plus identifiable interest-bearing securities, and receivables plus cash are below the examined total-assets limits. Walmart's prohibited-business revenue remains undisclosed, so this is not a claim about index membership.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Identifiable conventional cash and interest-bearing instruments and conservatively defined interest-bearing debt are below 33% of total assets. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official SAC classification of a U.S.-listed security; screened business revenue is unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible 24- or 36-month issuer market-cap history is not yet stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Walmart is an omnichannel retailer whose principal categories include grocery, general merchandise, health and wellness, fuel, membership, marketplace, advertising and related services. Ordinary food, clothing, household goods, electronics, pharmacy access, logistics and many other products and services are generally permissible, while particular merchandise and service categories require separate screening.
Limitation: Walmart documents sales or services involving alcohol, pork, tobacco, lottery tickets and financial services. Its filing reports only broad merchandise categories and markets, not a Sharia-screened revenue numerator for those activities, marketplace commissions, advertising, financing relationships, products, locations or end uses. Neither a below-5% nor an above-5% claim can be reproduced from consolidated disclosure.
Purification
Disclosed gross interest income equals 0.04% of quarterly total revenue. Revenue from alcohol, pork, tobacco, lottery, conventional-finance and other screened operating activities is unavailable, so 0.04% is evidence for the income screen rather than a complete fixed purification prescription.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Interest-bearing debt conservatively includes 10,673 of short-term borrowings, 3,896 of long-term debt due within one year, 36,887 of long-term debt, 851 of current finance-lease obligations and 5,822 of long-term finance-lease obligations. Operating leases are excluded.
- Cash and cash equivalents use the reported 10,729 balance.
- Identifiable interest-bearing securities include the reported 1,192 of debt investments. The separately disclosed 4,817 of equity investments are excluded.
- Receivables use the reported 10,662 net balance.
- Total revenues of 177,751 and disclosed gross interest income of 79 use the same three-month period ended April 30, 2026.
- Walmart discloses net sales by broad merchandise category or market, but not alcohol, pork, tobacco, lottery, conventional-finance, advertiser, marketplace-seller, individual product, or other Sharia-screened activity.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →