ZBH
Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc.
Is ZBH Halal?
Orthopedic medical devices are generally permissible; March 2026 debt is close to the examined 33% asset threshold and gross interest income is not disclosed.
What You Should Know
Zimmer Biomet's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q reports $22,721.6M of assets, $7,471M of debt, $424.2M of cash, $1,728.6M of receivables and $2,086.7M of quarterly net sales. Debt/assets is 32.88%, liquidity/assets 1.87% and receivables plus cash/assets 9.47%. The medical-device activity is generally permissible, but missing gross interest-income disclosure and the near-threshold debt ratio keep the overall record incomplete.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Debt/assets is 32.88%, close to the examined 33% boundary
- •The filing reports net interest expense but no standalone gross interest-income numerator
- •Orthopedic devices and surgical robotics are generally permissible therapeutic activities
- •Verify the next filing before relying on the result
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
7,471 / 22,721.6
424.2 / 22,721.6
2,152.8 / 22,721.6
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 32.88%, liquidity/assets 1.87% and receivables plus cash/assets 9.47%; the FTSE income input is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash are below the examined MSCI limits; the business and purification record remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt and liquidity are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits, but missing gross income disclosure prevents a complete overall result.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
No licensed historical market-cap series is stored.
Business-activity disclosure
Zimmer Biomet designs and sells orthopedic, trauma, extremity, dental and surgical-robotics medical devices. The core therapeutic activity is generally permissible, while product-level financing income and customer use remain qualitative topics.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a single gross interest-income numerator or a universally accepted prohibited-revenue numerator.
Purification
A standalone gross interest-income numerator is not disclosed in the filing, so no fixed purification percentage is asserted.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from the unaudited March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is the $1,175.9 million current portion plus $6,295.1 million long-term debt.
- Quarterly net sales are $2,086.7 million; the filing does not present a single gross interest-income numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar Stocks
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →