The Short Answer
Lightspeed Commerce stock (LSPD) is generally considered halal by most Islamic scholars and Sharia screening criteria, with some nuances to verify. Lightspeed is a Canada-based SaaS company providing a cloud-based commerce platform serving restaurants (Lightspeed Restaurant), retail merchants (Lightspeed Retail), and golf courses (Lightspeed Golf) with integrated point-of-sale, inventory management, payments, and e-commerce tools.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 40-F figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
0 / 1,665.222
453.906 / 1,665.222
501.507 / 1,665.222
8.248 / 1,227.046
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 0.00%, liquidity/assets is 27.26%, receivables plus cash/assets is 30.12% and disclosed net interest income/revenue is 0.67%; known financial ratios pass, but the business revenue numerator is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash pass the examined total-assets limits; this is not an index-membership claim and customer-use revenue remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The examined debt, liquidity and receivables-plus-cash asset ratios pass; this is not an official SAC classification and prohibited-activity revenue is not separately disclosed.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
No licensed historical market-cap series is stored.
Business-activity disclosure
Lightspeed provides cloud point-of-sale, retail, restaurant, golf, payments and commerce-management software. General-purpose merchant software is generally permissible, while payment processing and merchant-cash-advance exposure require qualitative review.
Limitation: The filing does not allocate revenue into a universal prohibited-activity numerator by merchant category or customer use.
Purification
Net interest income of $8.248 million is disclosed, but gross interest income and a scholar-specific purification rate are not; ZakatInvest does not prescribe a fixed percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Lightspeed's March 31, 2026 annual report.
- Lightspeed reports no borrowings; lease liabilities are not treated as interest-bearing debt in this screen.
- Cash is $453.906 million and trade and other receivables are $47.601 million.
- Fiscal 2026 revenue is $1,227.046 million and net interest income is $8.248 million; gross interest income is not separately presented.
- Merchant cash advances are disclosed separately and are not added to trade receivables or interest-bearing securities.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
The core business — cloud POS software and payment processing for restaurants and retail — is permissible at the activity level. Investors should verify the current debt-to-market-cap ratio given acquisition-driven balance-sheet leverage.
Sharia Screening Methodology
Islamic scholars use several criteria to screen stocks:
- Business activity screen: Is the company's primary business halal?
- Debt ratio: Total debt / market cap must be under 33%
- Interest income: Interest income / total revenue must be under 5%
- Haram revenue: Revenue from haram sources must be under 5%
- Receivables ratio: Total receivables / total assets must be under 49–70% (varies by board)
Lightspeed's Business Activity
Lightspeed's commerce platform serves three primary verticals:
- Lightspeed Restaurant: Cloud POS for restaurants and hospitality — table management, order management, kitchen display, online ordering, reservations, and staff management
- Lightspeed Retail: Cloud POS for specialty retail — inventory management, multi-location management, e-commerce integration, supplier catalog, and omnichannel selling
- Lightspeed Golf: Tee-time reservations, pro-shop POS, F&B management, and golf-course operations management
- Lightspeed Payments: Integrated payments processing for Lightspeed merchants — card-present and card-not-present transactions with transparent flat-rate pricing
- Lightspeed Capital: Merchant cash advances to Lightspeed merchants based on payment-processing history
Cloud POS and retail commerce software are permissible at the activity level. The Lightspeed Capital merchant-cash-advance product requires separate Sharia consideration.
Concerns to Be Aware Of
1. Lightspeed Capital — Merchant Cash Advances
Lightspeed Capital offers merchant cash advances to its restaurant and retail customers. A merchant cash advance (MCA) is technically structured as a purchase of future receivables rather than a loan, but the economic substance involves paying back more than the amount received. The Sharia classification of MCAs is debated — some scholars consider them permissible (purchase of receivables), while others classify the effective cost as riba. However, Lightspeed Capital is a small, ancillary product relative to total revenue; the primary business is software subscriptions and payment-processing fees.
2. Payment Processing Facilitates Credit-Card Transactions
Like other merchant-acquiring businesses, Lightspeed Payments facilitates credit-card transactions that may generate interest income for card issuers when cardholders carry balances. Lightspeed earns processing fees rather than the interest itself. Most Sharia advisory boards classify payment processors as permissible.
3. Alcohol-Serving Restaurant and Bar Customers
Lightspeed Restaurant serves a broad hospitality customer base including restaurants and bars that serve alcohol. The software is general-purpose hospitality POS, not exclusively designed for alcohol-serving establishments. Standard general-purpose-POS-vendor analysis applies.
4. Acquisition-Driven Balance Sheet
Lightspeed has made numerous acquisitions (ShopKeep, Vend, NuOrder, Ecwid, Chronogolf) that have added goodwill and integration complexity. The latest annual report reports no borrowings; investors should still verify the preferred methodology and current filings before investing.
Financial Ratios (March 31, 2026)
Based on Lightspeed Commerce's most recent financial statements:
- Debt / Total Assets: 0.00% ✅
- Cash / Total Assets: 27.26% ✅
- Receivables + cash / Total Assets: 30.12% ✅
- Net interest income / Revenue: 0.67%; gross interest and prohibited-activity revenue are not separately disclosed
Verdict from Major Screening Agencies
External screening results can differ because merchant-cash-advance treatment and customer-use revenue are not disclosed in a universal format:
- Asset-based financial ratios — Pass on the known inputs in the latest annual report
- Business-activity result — Incomplete until prohibited-activity revenue is separately quantified
- Scholar treatment — Payment processing and merchant cash advances may be assessed differently
Bottom Line
Lightspeed Commerce (LSPD) has a generally permissible cloud POS and commerce-software business. Its known asset-based ratios pass in the latest annual report, but the overall result remains methodology-dependent because merchant-cash-advance and prohibited-activity revenue are not separately quantified.
For Muslim investors seeking exposure to cloud commerce and restaurant/retail POS technology, LSPD sits in a peer group with Toast (TOST), Shift4 (FOUR), and Square (SQ) — most of which screen halal under standard Sharia methodology when financial ratios pass.
Want to check if another stock is halal? Use our free screener.
Open Halal Checker →