The Short Answer
Medpace stock (MEDP) is generally halal under this screen, with methodology-dependent caveats. Medpace provides general-purpose clinical research-based drug and medical-device development services. Those services are generally permissible at the activity level, while downstream client products, trial ethics and the treatment of small interest income require continuing review.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
0 / 2,129.613
652.681 / 2,129.613
1,047.262 / 2,129.613
5.117 / 706.604
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 0.00%, liquidity is 30.65%, receivables plus cash/assets is 49.18%, and disclosed net interest income/revenue is 0.72%; the examined financial ratios pass. The screened downstream-client revenue percentage remains unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt and liquidity pass the examined limits, but receivables plus cash/assets is 49.18%, above the examined MSCI total-assets receivables limit. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt is 0.00%, liquidity is 30.65% and disclosed interest income is 0.72%; the examined financial ratios pass. This is a calculation against the SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
A properly licensed and reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored, so these methods are not estimated from a current spot price.
Business-activity disclosure
Medpace provides general-purpose clinical research-based drug and medical-device development services, including Phase I-IV trial design and management, regulatory affairs, clinical monitoring, data management, pharmacovigilance, laboratory and imaging services. These services are generally permissible at the activity level under standard Sharia screening.
Limitation: Medpace does not classify revenue by downstream pharmaceutical formulation, animal-derived excipient, alcohol carrier, client end use or other product-level details. No exact prohibited-revenue percentage can be proven from consolidated service reporting.
Purification
Disclosed net interest income is 0.72% of quarterly revenue. A screened downstream-client revenue numerator is not separately disclosed, so this record does not prescribe a fixed purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Inputs use Medpace's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions converted from the filing's thousands presentation.
- Medpace states that it had no indebtedness as of March 31, 2026. Operating lease liabilities are disclosed separately and are not silently treated as interest-bearing debt.
- The filing does not report a separate interest-bearing securities portfolio; cash and cash equivalents of $652.681 million are not double-counted as securities.
- Accounts receivable and unbilled, net of $394.581 million are used as the receivables proxy.
- Quarterly revenue is $706.604 million and net interest income is $5.117 million. The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for downstream client products or end uses.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
This is a reproducible ZakatInvest calculation from Medpace's first-quarter 2026 Form 10-Q, for the period ended March 31, 2026. It is not a fatwa, an index-membership claim or personalized investment advice.
Current Quantitative Screen (March 31, 2026)
- Debt / assets: 0.00% — Medpace states it had no indebtedness
- Cash / assets: 30.65% — no separately reported interest-bearing securities are added
- Accounts receivable and unbilled + cash / assets: 49.18% — below the 50% contextual limit used here, but above the stricter MSCI total-assets receivables limit
- Net interest income / revenue: 0.72% — $5.117 million over $706.604 million
- Market-cap denominator methods: Not calculated because a licensed, reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored
Medpace's filing reports $2,129.613 million of assets, $652.681 million of cash and $394.581 million of accounts receivable and unbilled. Operating lease liabilities are disclosed separately and are not silently treated as interest-bearing debt. The filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator for downstream client products or end uses, so the business-activity and purification fields remain explicitly incomplete.
What Medpace Does
Medpace is a global provider of clinical research-based drug and medical-device development services. Its platform includes:
- Clinical development: Phase I-IV trial design, project management, clinical monitoring and operations
- Regulatory and scientific services: Regulatory affairs, submissions, medical writing, data management, analysis and pharmacovigilance
- Laboratory and imaging services: Central and bioanalytical laboratories, imaging, electrocardiography support and clinical human pharmacology
The company partners with pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical-device companies across North America, Europe and Asia. General-purpose research and development services are distinct from manufacturing or selling a particular downstream medicine or device.
Qualitative Issues to Keep in View
Downstream client products
Some clients may develop products with alcohol-containing formulations, porcine-derived excipients or other product-specific issues. Medpace's consolidated filing does not allocate revenue by those downstream attributes, so this page does not invent a prohibited-revenue percentage or make a blanket claim about every client product.
Clinical-trial ethics
Informed consent, participant safety, data integrity, fair access to therapies and the conduct of trials are substantive ethical diligence topics. They are not resolved by a low debt ratio.
Interest income and financial position
Medpace reports $5.117 million of net interest income, or 0.72% of quarterly revenue, and no indebtedness. Investors should follow their chosen methodology or qualified scholar for purification treatment instead of assuming a universal fixed percentage.
Governance and litigation
The filing discloses related-party service agreements with certain biotech companies connected to executives. It also discloses an April 6, 2026 securities class-action complaint concerning book-to-bill disclosures; the company had not recognized a liability because any loss was not probable or reasonably estimable at filing.
How to Read the Result
Medpace's general-purpose clinical-research activity is generally permissible. The financial result is methodology-dependent: debt, liquidity and income pass the examined checks, while the 49.18% receivables-plus-cash ratio is above the stricter MSCI total-assets limit. Client end-use revenue is also not separately disclosed. Investors should consult a qualified Sharia adviser for their school of jurisprudence and apply any purification practice they follow.
Bottom Line
Medpace (MEDP) is currently methodology-dependent but generally permissible at the activity level, with a 0.00% debt/assets ratio, 49.18% receivables-plus-cash/assets contextual ratio and 0.72% disclosed net-interest-income/revenue ratio as of March 31, 2026.
Methodology results differ on the receivables ratio; client end uses and purification remain review items.
Open Halal Checker →