CIBR
First Trust Nasdaq Cybersecurity ETF
Is CIBR Halal?
Cybersecurity ETF — same as HACK. Digital protection is permissible.
What You Should Know
First Trust's 9 July 2026 holdings were led by PANW (9.09%), FTNT (8.99%), CRWD (8.22%), CSCO (7.44%) and AVGO (6.80%); software and computer services were 76.98% of the portfolio on 8 July. Cybersecurity is generally permissible, but CIBR is not Sharia-screened.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Underlying issuers need screening
- •Aerospace/defense exposure
- •Not Sharia-screened
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on Daily issuer holdings and net-assets page figures for the period ended 2026-07-09; calculated 2026-07-14.
0 / 14,228.97
0 / 14,228.97
0 / 14,228.97
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Fund-level debt, liquidity and income inputs are not separately reported; underlying issuer screens and prohibited-income classification remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Available fund-level proxy ratios are below the examined MSCI asset limits, but the underlying portfolio has no universal prohibited-income classification.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Available fund-level proxy ratios are below the examined Malaysia limits; look-through activity remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series and fund-level prohibited-income convention are not stored.
Business-activity disclosure
CIBR is a cybersecurity ETF. Cybersecurity and enterprise software are generally permissible activities, but the portfolio includes technology hardware, telecom equipment and aerospace/defense exposure and is not Sharia-screened.
Limitation: The issuer discloses holdings, weights and sector composition but no universal prohibited-revenue allocation across each underlying issuer.
Purification
CIBR passes through distributions from underlying issuers; no scholar-approved purification percentage is disclosed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- First Trust reported CIBR net assets of USD 14,228.970 million as of 7 July 2026 and 42 holdings around the 9 July 2026 holdings date.
- The 9 July holdings included PANW 9.09%, FTNT 8.99%, CRWD 8.22%, CSCO 7.44% and AVGO 6.80%. First Trust Canada reported software and computer services at 76.98% of portfolio composition on 8 July 2026.
- The issuer does not provide a school-neutral prohibited-revenue allocation or fund-level debt, cash and receivable lines; zeroes mean not separately reported, not that every underlying issuer has zero exposure.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar ETFs
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →