EWJ
iShares MSCI Japan ETF
Is EWJ Halal?
Japan equity ETF with an incomplete current quantitative record because the short shareholder report does not disclose a complete fund-level balance sheet.
What You Should Know
EWJ's February 28, 2026 BlackRock shareholder report reports USD 20,311.574 million of net assets. The short report does not reproduce complete debt, cash, receivable or investment-income lines, so no financial pass is asserted. Japanese banks, insurers, gaming, entertainment, hospitality and real-estate holdings require continuing qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Complete fund-level balance-sheet inputs are not in the short report
- •Japanese banks and insurers
- •Gaming, entertainment and hospitality exposure
- •Real-estate and financial-services holdings
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on N-CSRS figures for the period ended 2026-02-28; calculated 2026-07-15.
0 / 20,311.574
0 / 20,311.574
0 / 20,311.574
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
The net-assets proxy does not disclose comparable debt, liquidity, receivables or income lines; no pass is asserted.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
No debt, cash, securities or receivable amount is disclosed in the short report; the stored zero placeholders produce a mechanical asset-ratio pass, but the overall result remains incomplete because the numerator is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
No debt, cash, securities or receivable amount is disclosed in the short report; the stored zero placeholders produce a mechanical asset-ratio pass, but the overall result remains incomplete because the numerator is unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series and fund-level prohibited-income convention are not stored.
Business-activity disclosure
EWJ is a Japan equity pass-through ETF. Manufacturing, technology and healthcare are generally permissible, while banks, insurers, gaming, alcohol, real estate and other issuer-level activities require review.
Limitation: The short report does not provide a school-neutral prohibited-revenue allocation or complete fund-level balance-sheet lines.
Purification
EWJ's short shareholder report does not disclose a comparable fund-level purification amount; no percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- The February 28, 2026 BlackRock semi-annual shareholder report reports EWJ net assets of USD 20,311.574 million. The full statement-of-assets lines are not reproduced in the short report, so net assets are used as a conservative denominator proxy and unavailable fields are not invented.
- EWJ's disclosed portfolio spans industrials, financials, consumer discretionary, technology, healthcare, communications, consumer staples, materials, real estate and utilities; issuer-level screens are required.
- ETF look-through ratios are not an official FTSE, MSCI or Malaysia classification.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar ETFs
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →