EWU
iShares MSCI United Kingdom ETF
Is EWU Halal?
United Kingdom equity ETF with an incomplete current quantitative record because the short shareholder report does not disclose a complete fund-level balance sheet.
What You Should Know
EWU's February 28, 2026 BlackRock shareholder report reports USD 3,240.684 million of net assets and 75 holdings. The short report does not reproduce complete debt, cash, receivable or investment-income lines, so no financial pass is asserted. HSBC and other banks, Shell and BP energy exposure, British American Tobacco and mixed issuer activities require continuing qualitative review.
⚠️ Concerns
- •Complete fund-level balance-sheet inputs are not in the short report
- •HSBC and other conventional financial institutions
- •Shell and BP energy exposure
- •British American Tobacco exposure
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on N-CSRS figures for the period ended 2026-02-28; calculated 2026-07-15.
0 / 3,240.684
0 / 3,240.684
0 / 3,240.684
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
The net-assets proxy does not disclose comparable debt, liquidity, receivables or income lines; no pass is asserted.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
No debt, cash, securities or receivable amount is disclosed in the short report; the stored zero placeholders produce a mechanical asset-ratio pass, but the overall result remains incomplete because the numerator is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
No debt, cash, securities or receivable amount is disclosed in the short report; the stored zero placeholders produce a mechanical asset-ratio pass, but the overall result remains incomplete because the numerator is unavailable.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A licensed historical market-cap series and fund-level prohibited-income convention are not stored.
Business-activity disclosure
EWU is a United Kingdom equity pass-through ETF. Healthcare, consumer staples and industrial activities are generally permissible, while banks, insurers, energy, tobacco and other issuer-level activities require review.
Limitation: The short report does not provide a school-neutral prohibited-revenue allocation or complete fund-level balance-sheet lines.
Purification
EWU's short shareholder report does not disclose a comparable fund-level purification amount; no percentage is inferred.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- The February 28, 2026 BlackRock semi-annual shareholder report reports EWU net assets of USD 3,240.684 million and 75 holdings. A fund-level statement-of-assets line is not reproduced in the short shareholder report, so net assets are used as a conservative denominator proxy and income inputs remain unavailable rather than invented.
- EWU's portfolio has substantial financials, consumer staples, healthcare, industrials and energy exposure; issuer-level screens and prohibited-revenue allocations are not provided by the fund.
- ETF look-through ratios are not an official FTSE, MSCI or Malaysia classification.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Similar ETFs
Want to screen more assets?
Use our interactive Halal Checker to screen any stock, ETF, or crypto instantly.
Go to Halal Checker →