The Short Answer
AME is halal on the current asset-based screen, with an incomplete income disclosure. The March 31, 2026 filing shows debt/assets of 13.35%, liquidity/assets of 2.95% and receivables plus cash/assets of 10.03%. Gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-13.
2,177.549 / 16,309.535
481.25 / 16,309.535
1,635.201 / 16,309.535
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 13.35%, liquidity/assets is 2.95% and receivables plus cash/assets is 10.03%; gross interest income and screened business revenue remain unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets, liquidity/assets and receivables plus cash/assets are below the examined total-assets limits; this is not an index-membership claim and screened business revenue remains undisclosed.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and identifiable conventional cash and instruments are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits; this is not an official SAC classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Not calculated
No licensed historical market-cap series is stored.
Business-activity disclosure
AMETEK makes electronic instruments and electromechanical devices for process, power, aerospace, medical, automation and research end markets. These general-purpose industrial products are generally permissible, while end-market exposure remains qualitative context.
Limitation: The filing does not allocate revenue into a universal prohibited-activity numerator and does not separately disclose gross interest income.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; ZakatInvest does not assert a purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from AMETEK's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is short-term borrowings and current portion of long-term debt of $1,114.946 million plus long-term debt of $1,062.603 million.
- Cash is $481.250 million and receivables are $1,153.951 million; the filing does not identify a separate interest-bearing securities balance.
- Quarterly net sales were $1,928.437 million. Gross interest income and a universal prohibited-revenue numerator are not separately disclosed.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Business activity
AMETEK's Electronic Instruments Group and Electromechanical Group supply process and analytical instruments, power and industrial instrumentation, medical components, specialty motors, automation and thermal-management products. These are generally permissible industrial activities.
Qualitative context
Aerospace and defense and oil-and-gas customers are end-market context; AMETEK sells general-purpose instrumentation rather than weapons or hydrocarbons. Acquisitions leave meaningful debt, but the current total-assets ratios pass the examined limits.
What the filing changes
The Form 10-Q reports $16.31 billion of assets, $2.18 billion of debt, $481.3 million of cash, $1.154 billion of receivables and $1.928 billion of quarterly sales. Because gross interest income is not separately quantified, ZakatInvest does not invent a purification percentage.
Bottom line
AME remains generally halal but incomplete. Recheck the next filing and apply the methodology used by your preferred adviser.