The Short Answer
Chipotle stock (CMG) remains doubtful for Muslim investors. The latest financial ratios are within the examined asset-based limits, but the company does not disclose enough detail to quantify pork, non-halal meat or alcohol revenue. The retained qualitative concern is material: carnitas is pork, the broader meat program is generally not halal-certified in the United States, and some locations serve alcohol.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
0 / 8,803.219
890.873 / 8,803.219
341.57 / 8,803.219
8.742 / 3,088.242
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets are 0.00%, liquidity is 10.12%, receivables plus cash are 3.88%, and the conservative interest-and-other-income upper bound is 0.28%, below the examined FTSE limits. The menu-category business numerator is not disclosed, so the overall screen remains incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt, liquidity, receivables-plus-cash and the conservative income upper bound are below the examined MSCI total-assets limits. This is a calculation against the named method, not an index-membership claim; menu-category revenue remains unallocated.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
The examined financial ratios pass the Malaysia SAC asset-based limits, but Chipotle does not disclose a prohibited-menu revenue numerator against the activity benchmark. This is a calculation against SAC ratios, not an official classification of a U.S.-listed security.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
A properly licensed historical market-cap series is not stored. A different denominator cannot resolve the unquantified pork, non-halal-meat and alcohol activity question.
Business-activity disclosure
Chipotle operates fast-casual restaurants. Restaurant service is a mixed activity here because the menu includes pork carnitas and meat that is not halal-certified in the United States and most markets; some locations also sell alcohol. The quantitative filing does not allocate those categories into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator, so the screen cannot publish a precise percentage.
Limitation: Chipotle reports one restaurant segment and food-and-beverage revenue, but not revenue by protein, preparation, alcohol or store. The qualitative issue is therefore retained without presenting an unsupported share of sales as a measured fact.
Purification
The filing provides a conservative upper bound for interest and other income, but does not quantify prohibited menu-category revenue or prescribe a scholar-approved purification percentage. Investors should follow the qualified guidance applicable to their chosen methodology.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Inputs use Chipotle's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q; amounts are USD millions, and revenue and income are for the three-month period.
- No interest-bearing debt is entered: the filing reports operating lease liabilities and a $500 million undrawn revolving facility, but no drawn conventional debt balance. Operating lease liabilities are not silently treated as debt.
- Cash uses $246.636 million of cash and cash equivalents. Interest-bearing securities use $624.786 million of current investments plus $19.451 million of long-term corporate debt securities and notes receivable; equity investments are excluded.
- Receivables use $94.934 million of net accounts receivable. Total revenue is $3,088.242 million for the quarter.
- The filing reports $8.742 million of interest and other income, net. The full amount is treated as a conservative upper bound for potentially non-compliant investment income rather than asserted to be pure interest.
- The filing does not allocate revenue by pork, non-halal meat, alcohol or other menu category. No prohibited-revenue numerator is invented; the business screen remains incomplete alongside the retained qualitative concern.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
This is a reproducible ZakatInvest calculation from Chipotle's first-quarter 2026 Form 10-Q for the period ended March 31, 2026. It is not a fatwa, an index-membership claim or personalized investment advice.
Current Quantitative Screen (March 31, 2026)
- Debt / assets: 0.00% — no drawn interest-bearing debt is reported; operating lease liabilities are shown separately
- Cash + interest-bearing securities / assets: 10.12% — $890.873 million against $8,803.219 million of assets
- Receivables + cash / assets: 3.88% — $341.570 million against total assets
- Interest and other income / revenue: 0.28% upper bound — $8.742 million over $3,088.242 million of quarterly revenue
- Prohibited-menu revenue: Not disclosed — no pork, non-halal-meat or alcohol percentage is invented
- Market-cap denominator methods: Not calculated because a licensed, reproducible historical market-cap series is not stored
The entered financial ratios pass the examined FTSE Yasaar, MSCI total-assets and Malaysia SAC checks. The overall record remains incomplete because the filing does not quantify the mixed menu activity, while the qualitative analysis explains why many investors still avoid the stock.
Chipotle's Business Activity
Chipotle operates fast-casual restaurants serving burritos, bowls, tacos, quesadillas and salads. Its filing reports 4,090 owned restaurants at March 31, 2026, including 3,983 in the United States and 107 international locations, plus 14 international partner-operated restaurants.
The food-service activity is mixed for Sharia analysis. Sofritas, beans, rice, vegetables and guacamole can be halal-friendly for a customer, but the consolidated business also sells pork and non-halal-certified meat. The filing reports one restaurant segment and food-and-beverage revenue rather than a protein-by-protein split.
Why CMG Remains Doubtful
1. Carnitas is pork
Carnitas is slow-braised pork and is a featured menu choice. Selling pork is a direct qualitative concern under the retained analysis, regardless of whether an individual customer chooses a vegetarian meal.
2. Other meats are generally not halal-certified
Chicken, steak, barbacoa and chorizo are described through Chipotle's sourcing standards, not a general halal certification. Responsibly raised or antibiotic-free is not the same as zabihah certification.
3. Some locations serve alcohol
The company identifies the sale of alcoholic beverages as a restaurant risk and some locations serve beer or margaritas. Public reporting does not quantify that revenue, so this remains a qualitative concern rather than an invented percentage.
4. Customers and shareholders face different questions
A Muslim customer may be able to build a halal-friendly bowl at a particular location. A shareholder owns an interest in the consolidated business and its overall profit stream, including menu items and locations the shareholder would not personally consume.
How to Read the Result
CMG's current balance-sheet ratios are clean under the examined total-assets calculations, but that does not turn a mixed restaurant menu into an unconditional halal certification. Scholars and screening providers may differ on look-through treatment, materiality and whether a mixed food-service activity can pass without a quantified prohibited-revenue numerator.
Bottom Line
Chipotle Mexican Grill is currently doubtful for most Muslim investors. As of March 31, 2026, debt/assets are 0.00%, receivables plus cash/assets are 3.88% and the conservative interest-and-other-income upper bound is 0.28%. Those numbers should be read alongside the unresolved pork, non-halal-meat and alcohol concerns—not as a replacement for them.
Compare another ticker with its current quantitative and qualitative screen.
Open Halal Checker →