The Short Answer
FTV is halal on the current asset-based screen, with an incomplete income disclosure. Debt/assets is 30.12% and the other disclosed asset ratios pass; Fortive does not separately disclose gross interest income.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-04-03; calculated 2026-07-13.
3,489.1 / 11,584.1
356.1 / 11,584.1
1,003.1 / 11,584.1
- Financial
- Incomplete
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets is 30.12%, liquidity/assets is 3.07% and receivables plus cash/assets is 8.66%; gross interest income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets, liquidity/assets and receivables plus cash/assets are below the examined MSCI limits; business activity and gross interest income remain incomplete.
- Financial
- Pass
- Overall
- Incomplete
Debt/assets and liquidity/assets are below the examined Malaysia SAC limits; no universal prohibited-revenue numerator is asserted.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Incomplete
No licensed historical market-cap series is stored.
Business-activity disclosure
Fortive provides industrial instrumentation, connected-workflow software, safety products and healthcare technologies across Intelligent Operating Solutions and Advanced Healthcare Solutions. These activities are generally permissible, while end-market exposure remains qualitative context.
Limitation: The filing does not allocate revenue into a universal prohibited-activity numerator, and it does not separately disclose gross interest income.
Purification
Gross interest income is not separately disclosed; ZakatInvest does not assert a purification percentage.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Fortive's April 3, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is current and long-term debt carrying value; accounts receivable is $647.0 million and cash/equivalents is $356.1 million.
- Quarterly sales were $1,069.4 million. The filing does not separately disclose gross interest income, so no income numerator is invented.
- Fortive provides industrial instrumentation, software, workflow, safety and healthcare technologies; the filing does not provide a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
Business activity
Fortive's Intelligent Operating Solutions and Advanced Healthcare Solutions include Tektronix and Fluke instrumentation, Gordian, Accruent and ServiceChannel workflow software, Industrial Scientific safety products, and healthcare technologies such as Censis, Provation and Landauer. These are generally permissible industrial, software and healthcare activities.
Qualitative context
Some customers operate in oil and gas, government and healthcare end markets, but Fortive sells general-purpose instruments, software and services rather than the underlying financial or hydrocarbon product. Term debt and commercial paper remain material, and gross interest income is not separately disclosed.
What the filing changes
The April 3, 2026 filing reports $3.49 billion of debt, $356.1 million of cash, $647.0 million of receivables and $1.069 billion of quarterly sales against $11.58 billion of assets. Because gross interest income is unavailable, ZakatInvest does not invent a purification percentage.
Bottom line
FTV remains generally halal but incomplete. Recheck the next filing and apply the methodology used by your preferred adviser.