The Short Answer
Keurig Dr Pepper has a generally permissible beverage business, but the current screen is DOUBTFUL. The latest examined filing shows debt/assets above the displayed asset-based limit. Partner-brand mix and the JDE Peet's acquisition also require qualitative review; this is a research screen, not a fatwa.
Current quantitative Sharia screen
Based on 10-Q figures for the period ended 2026-03-31; calculated 2026-07-14.
25,707 / 73,140
18,716 / 73,140
2,437 / 73,140
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is 35.15%, above the examined 33.333% limit; restricted-cash liquidity/assets is 25.62%, receivables plus cash/assets is 3.33%, and income is unavailable.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is above the examined total-assets limit; this is not an index-membership claim.
- Financial
- Fails
- Overall
- Fails
Debt/assets is above the examined Malaysia SAC financial limit; this is not an official classification.
- Financial
- Not calculated
- Overall
- Fails
Market-cap methods are not calculated; the examined asset-based debt failure remains.
Business-activity disclosure
Keurig Dr Pepper sells non-alcoholic refreshments, packaged coffee, brewers and partner beverages. Core categories are generally permissible, while partner-brand and post-acquisition product-level classification is not quantified into a universal prohibited-revenue numerator.
Limitation: The filing does not provide a reproducible market-cap history or a school-specific partner-brand revenue taxonomy.
Purification
Interest income is not separately disclosed and product-level partner-brand exposure is not quantified; no fixed purification percentage is prescribed.
Inputs, assumptions and primary sources
- Amounts are USD millions from Keurig Dr Pepper's March 31, 2026 Form 10-Q.
- Debt is short-term borrowings and current portion of long-term obligations of 4,816 plus long-term obligations of 20,891; leases are excluded.
- Cash is 898; 17,818 of restricted cash is shown separately and is included only as a conservative liquidity proxy because it was legally segregated for the JDE Peet's acquisition.
- Trade accounts receivable are 1,539 and quarterly net sales are 3,976.
- No standalone interest-income or prohibited-revenue numerator is disclosed in the examined filing.
This is a reproducible financial screen, not a fatwa. A failed total-assets screen can coexist with a pass under a market-cap methodology. ZakatInvest keeps the qualitative assessment separate so numerical thresholds do not erase material context.
The Form 10-Q for March 31, 2026 reports $73,140 million of assets and $25,707 million of debt. $17,818 million of restricted cash was held for the JDE Peet's acquisition; interest income is not separately disclosed.
Sharia Screening Methodology
Islamic scholars use several criteria to screen stocks:
- Business activity screen: Is the company's primary business halal?
- Debt ratio: Total debt / market cap must be under 33%
- Interest income: Interest income / total revenue must be under 5%
- Haram revenue: Revenue from haram sources must be under 5%
- Receivables ratio: Total receivables / total assets must be under 49–70% (varies by board)
Keurig Dr Pepper's Business Activity
Keurig Dr Pepper was formed in 2018 from the merger of Keurig Green Mountain (single-serve coffee systems) and Dr Pepper Snapple Group (branded soft drinks). The company's portfolio includes:
- Carbonated soft drinks: Dr Pepper, 7UP, A&W, Canada Dry, Schweppes, Squirt
- Hot beverages: Keurig single-serve brewers and K-Cup pods, Green Mountain Coffee, the Original Donut Shop
- Premium and specialty: Snapple, Bai, Vita Coco (partial), Polar, evian (US distribution)
- Other: Mott's, Hawaiian Punch, Yoo-hoo, Clamato
Beverages and brewing systems are clean product categories from a Sharia perspective. KDP's direct portfolio contains no alcohol and no pork-related ingredients of concern.
Current Quantitative Screen (March 31, 2026)
- Debt / assets: 35.15% — $25,707 million / $73,140 million
- Restricted-cash liquidity / assets: 25.62% — $18,716 million / $73,140 million
- Receivables + cash / assets: 3.33% — $2,437 million / $73,140 million
- Interest income: Not separately disclosed
Debt/assets fails the displayed 33.333% asset-based limit. Restricted cash is shown as a conservative liquidity proxy and was legally segregated for the acquisition.
Concerns to Be Aware Of
1. Distribution of Partner Brands
KDP's distribution network carries a number of allied brands — including some that are independently questionable depending on scholar. The most notable example is Vita Coco (where KDP holds an equity stake), as well as evian and other premium brands distributed under licensing agreements. The economic exposure to non-KDP-owned products is real but limited.
2. Post-Merger Leverage
Net debt has come down considerably since 2018, but KDP still runs a moderately leveraged balance sheet relative to consumer staples peers. The debt ratio remains within Sharia thresholds, and conservative investors should monitor leverage at year-end.
3. Sugar Content
Many of KDP's core products are high-sugar carbonated soft drinks. This is a public health concern rather than a Sharia compliance issue, but Muslim investors who weigh maslahah (public benefit) considerations may want to factor it in.
4. Interest Income on Cash
Interest income is not separately disclosed in the examined filing. ZakatInvest does not invent a purification percentage; consult a qualified adviser if a school-specific screen permits investment.
How to Read the Quantitative Result
The ratios are ZakatInvest calculations from the March 31, 2026 filing. Schools and index providers differ on debt denominators, restricted cash and partner-brand treatment; this page does not claim an official outside-agency classification.
Bottom Line
Keurig Dr Pepper (KDP) is doubtful on the current examined screen. The core beverage and coffee categories are generally permissible, but debt/assets is 35.15% and partner-brand revenue is not fully quantified. Investors should seek qualified Sharia advice before investing.
Consumer-staples peers require separate current screens rather than serving as automatic alternatives. PepsiCo's June 2026 total-assets debt ratio fails the examined limits, and Coca-Cola's April 2026 ratio also fails its examined limits.
Want to check if another stock is halal? Use our free screener.
Open Halal Checker →